Burkina Faso and Niger say they are quitting G5 Sahel

Estimated read time 1 min read

The military leaders of Burkina Faso and Niger said Saturday that they would end their participation in the G5 Sahel.

Formed in 2014 by Niger, Mali, Chad, Mauritania and Burkina Faso, the G5 Sahel is an institutional framework for regional cooperation on development policies and security matters in West Africa. 

Mali withdrew from the group last year.

(With input from agencies)

You May Also Like

More From Author

+ There are no comments

Add yours